Each site includes a small advisory committee of two to three local individuals who can help to identify appropriate ways to access youth, help to define the construct of resilience, and oversee the ethical application of the research in their community.  These individuals are also influential in their community of service providers and act as aids for dissemination of results to practitioners and policy makers.

Principal Investigator

  • Dr. Michael Ungar – School of Social Work, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS, Canada


  • Dr. Linda Liebenberg – Resilience Research Centre, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS,Canada
  • Dr. Wai-Man Kwong – City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
  • Dr. Kathryn Levine – School of Social Work, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB, Canada
  • Dr. Jean Mitchell – Institute of Island Studies, University of Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, PEI, Canada
  • Dr. Fausta Philip – Muhimbili National Hospital, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  • Dr. Zahava Solomon – School of Social Work, Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel
  • Dr. Mary Armstrong – Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, Tampa, FL, USA
  • Dr. Roger Boothroyd – Department of Mental Health, Law and Policy, Tampa, FL, USA
  • Dr. Ann Cameron – Psychology Department, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Dr. Luis Duque – School of Public Health, University of Antioquia, Medellín, Colombia
  • Father Jerry Kulang Thomas – Don Brosco Provincial Office, Guwahati, Assam, India
  • Mr. Quinton Adams – Department of Educational Psychology and Specialised Education, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
  • Ms. Hania Bitar – PYALARA, East- Jerusalem, Palestinian Occupied Territories
  • Ms. Angela Ifunya – Protect Children’s Rights Trust, Moshi, Tanzania


  • Dr. Ken Barter – School of Social Work, Memorial University of Newfoundland, NFL, Canada
  • Dr. Tara Callaghan – Psychology Department, St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, NS, Canada
  • Dr. John LeBlanc – Departments of Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Community Health and Epidemiology, Dalhousie University, Halifax, NS, Canada
  • Dr. Normand Carrey – Department of Psychiatry, IWK Children’s Hospital, Halifax, NS, Canada
  • Dr. Maria Cheung – School of Social Work, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB, Canada
  • Dr. David Este – Faculty of Social Work, University of Calgary, Alberta, Canada
  • Dr. Jane Gilgun – School of Social Work, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA
  • Dr. Nancy Heath – Faculty of Education, McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada
  • Dr. Christine Jourdan – Department of Anthropology and Sociology, Concordia University, Montreal, QC, Canada
  • Dr. Bruce MacLaurin – Faculty of Social Work, University of Calgary, AB, Canada
  • Dr. Alexander Makhnach – Institute of Psychology and Psychotherapy; Institute of Psychology Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia
  • Dr. Kader Musleh – Social Sciences Department, Bethlehem University, West Bank, Palestinian Occupied Territories
  • Chief Anastasia Qupee – Sheshatshiu Innu Band Council, Sheshatshiu, Labrador, Canada
  • Dr. Eli Teram – Faculty of Social Work, Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, ON, Canada
  • Dr. Victor Thiessen – Department of Sociology and Social Anthropology, Dalhousie University, NS, Canada